The Japca Monastery is situated on the shore of Nistru River at the distance of 10 km from Camenca. It is the only monastery from Basarabia which was never closed by the Soviet authorities.
The Japca area (160 km north the Chisinau) is very well known for its convent of nuns, the only one to remain open during the Soviet period. In XVIIth c. the convent community was similar to a fortress. The first recorded date of the hermitage goes back to 1693, when the monks lived in the inside cells and held religious services in the church, which was also inside caves. In 1770 the monks moved out to the current monastery. It was a period of a new construction style and increasing wealth. A rich library was founded too. At the beginning of the XIXth c. stone churches were built as well. The most important church of the convent was frequently rebuilt, thus now having three altars: Resurrection, Transfiguration, Crucifixion. Visitors are very impressed by the traditions that still prevail within the community. The convent can be daily visited.
Other interesting sightseeing opportunities include the Geo-paleonthological monument “Japca Rock”, a mineral water spring, Rascov landscape nature reserve and palaeolithic sites at Socola and Rascov. In Camenca town is the “Nistru” sanatorium.
Next to the interesting sightseeing of this place there is the Geo-paleonthological monument “Japca Rock”, a mineral water spring, landscape reservoir Rascov and paleolitical stations at Socola and Rascov. In Camenca town sanatorium “Nistru” is functioning.